12th April to 11th May, 2008 – A Four Week Jaunt Experiencing Some of Scotland’s North West Highlands and Islands

Arisaig, Isle of Eigg, Sunart and Ardgour

Andy C. departed to leave me burning myself on a beach with smoked salmon treats and wine. A swim proved warmer than expected and more chilling out on the sand followed before another stunning sunset.

Good weather continued and rather than go walking up an easily accessible hill or two, I opted to take advantage and head out to Eigg with my bike for the day. Definitely got the best of the place with the bike and managed to get up the Sgurr, had a swim in a mountain lochan, cycled north to the bay of the Singing Sands. The only thing that was singing was the birds. Great views over to the Rum Cuilins though.

Having changed camp site to the one at the base of Beinn Resipol, it made sense to walk up there and get views of new territory for me. Another swim attempted up high but this time the temperature of the water beat me and I only managed a partial dip. Down in good time so off for a spot of lunch in Strontian.

Weather gorgeous and had to take advantage again so headed along the road to Garbh Bheinn, a hill I’ve looked over at from Ballachulish and Glen Coe countless times. Up and down with limited views in the distance due to high levels of haze but the views of the cliffs and two climbers on them and the walk out along the river were stunning.

Comments are closed.

