5th July, 2009 – Paddle out to and Round the Bass Rock

A storm was in the area so I ventured out with a revised plan of just heading along the coast as far as possible before the weather changed for the worse. The storm actually passed quite rapidly and on to Fife so I went with my original plan of heading out to see the Bass Rock. With masses of bird life cicrling above (quite mesmerising), I cicrcled the volcanic plug, stopping to chat along the way with divers awaiting their pickup (quite surreal) and other paddlers too. On the way back the storm was audibly coming back in and looking back the skies were pretty ominous looking – the birds didn’t seem to happy with the thunder either and I covered the distance back to North Berwick pretty swiftly.

Comments are closed.

