24th to 31st October, 2009 – Climbing Trip in and Around Calpe, Costa Blanca

A trip out to Calpe on the Costa Blanca for some sport climbing.   Weather surprisingly warm and no rain at all for the week I was there with a group, some of whom, were on their second week.

I had the usual head issues climbing but more than that my abilities were seriously hampered by lack of climbing through the year so no progress made but fun had nonetheless.

Highlights of the trip for me were, evening meals and chat, climbing at my new favourite crag, Toix, an early morning walk / run up Calpe’s Penon (de Ifach) to catch sunrise and an amazing descent of the Gorge of Hell (Barranco del Infierno) which involved a fair amount of rope work and getting wet.

Comments are closed.

