3rd of May, 2010 – Reluctance to go Home – Glen Orchy and Sron nan Colan

Despite having tired feet and legs after two big days of walking with a heavy pack on, I had a general reluctance to head home early on a beautiful sunny day so I started off with a leisurely drive down Glen Orchy to take pictures of the river and surroundings. Not far from here where I would join the road south, I stopped to call home and was reminded by the view ahead about a walk I had intended doing ‘some day’. Well, today became ‘some day’ and apart from the walk looking interesting and easy on the legs, there was the added attraction of me being able to justify to myself a fish supper nearby at the end of it.

What a pleasure to be walking with a tiny bag on after the previous two days and on paths too. I meandered up the zig-zags of the old lead mines area on the side of Sron nan Colan trying to get as a close a look in to them as possible, not the easiest task given how well the mines have been fenced off but interesting nonetheless. Soon I was up above them and on the short walk to the summit where there are great views of Ben Lui and the surrounding hills. I lingered for a while, thinking of possible camps here for the future taking in a sunset over Ben Lui maybe but not that long. Thoughts of the fish supper returned and so I headed back down to the car, Tyndrum and home after my unjustified reward.

Comments are closed.

