An Evening Hill Run on Meall a’ Bhuachaille

Taking advantage of being in the Aviemore area for the evening, I decided to have a go at running up the hill, Meall a’ Bhuachaille and due to the constraints of an evening meal time, the run was to be the dessert which followed on from my curry dinner, not really my preferred order of exercise followed by food! You can’t have a curry without beer, so my hydration was kept in order with two pints of the finest, isotonic sports ale available.

IMG_4064

IMG_4066

Leaving Glenmore, I headed along a lovely section of pine woodland passing An Lochan Uaine on my way to Ryvoan, where I would turn and start ascending the hill. A quick stop at the bothy there and a chat with someone who was spending the night, was a good chance to get some breath back before my legs and lungs were tested on the steep path taking me up to the summit of Meall a’ Bhuachaille. I had to stop a few times and used the views and my camera as handy excuses for doing so, my running pace was limited too and was more like a fast walk on the way up as legs were still feeling the effect from hills I’d run over, a few days previously.

IMG_4071

IMG_4073

Despite, my lack of pace, I was soon up top, but a bit early for actual sunset with it being almost the longest day of the year. The views around were worth lingering in the cool breeze for a couple of minutes and the setting sun tinged the surroundings with the colour of the day ending, nice shades of orange and pink brought out on the red rock of the Cairngorm’s northern corries.

IMG_4075

IMG_4083

Descent was a pleasant change in pace and effort and with a good path, I was soon back down among the trees making my way back to my starting point.

IMG_4088

One odd sight (new for me) along the way was the amount of pine pollen lying. A fine, yellow dusty powder, coating everything in the area, even the surface at the edge of bodies of water including An Lochan Uaine. The lochan has the appearance of being rich in minerals anyway with its green hue, but adding to the effect was the resulting milky, yellow suspension resembling that seen in sulphurous hot springs.

Comments are closed.

